DeWitt Wallace Library

Career and Graduate School Resources

Career Resources
  • General Career Resources
    • Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
      Provides information about jobs and occupations as well as covers topics such as employment trends, job hunting, career preparation, and basic career skills.
      • Location(s): Ref HF5381 .E52
    • Occupational Outlook Handbook
      Coverage: Current.
      "Welcome to the Nation′s premier source for career information! The profiles featured here cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade."
Graduate School Resources
  • College Blue Book
    Coverage: Published 2008.
    Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the United States and Canada. Includes detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
  • Peterson's Guides

    Peterson's graduate programs in the humanities, arts & social sciences. Peterson's graduate programs in business, education, health, information studies, law & social work.

Working in the U.S.
  • Work & Travel USA
    Coverage: Current.
    A website developed by InterExchange which is a "non-profit organization devoted to promoting cross-cultural awareness through work and volunteer exchange programs."
Travel & Country Resources
  • Travel.State.Gov
    Coverage: Current.
    Promotes international exchange and understanding by providing information about international travel, documents for U.S. Citizens to travel the Globe, and information and documents for people around the world to travel to the U.S.
  • U.S. Travel Association
    Coverage: Current.
    National organization working to increase travel to and within the United States.
International News
  • Access World News: Research Collection
    Coverage: Dates Vary.
    International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Coverage: Date Varies.
    Extensive online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, legal resources, medical resources, and more - updated daily. Also includes several reference sources, as well as archived transcripts from radio and television (TV) broadcasts (text-only). One of the most comprehensive news databases, LexisNexis Academic provides articles from thousands of sources. Coverage is different for each title. For example, articles from the Washington Post are available from 1977 through current, whereas articles from the Star Tribune are available from 1991 through current. Includes regional newspapers: Duluth News-Tribune, Grand Forks Herald, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), St. Paul Pioneer Press. Updated daily.
  • Westlaw Campus Research
    Resource Temporarily Unavailable This resource had been discontinued. You may want to try searching LexisNexis Academic
    Coverage: Dates Vary.

    Full-text collection of news, business, and law related information. Includes Hoovers Company Profiles and Basic Reports.