Course Guide for
Introduction to International Economics
Use the following general guides to help you with questions about research.
Librarians can help you with questions such as choosing a research topic or question, finding background information, searching within Library catalogs and subscription resources, selecting appropriate materials, finding books and articles at Macalester, requesting materials from other libraries, finding statistics, evaluating research resources, citing resources, etc.
Tools to Help with Library Research
Use the following resources to help you find materials.
Watch for the the MacLinks button: and find options for locating books, journals, and journal articles.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD and Request)
If Macalester does not own or provide access to the research material you need, you can ask the Library to try and borrow the item from another Library in the area.
Selected online, print, and media resources available to Macalester students, faculty, and staff in discipline-based subject areas. Prepared by Department Liaison Librarians.
A time management tool for researching and completing papers, poster sessions, oral presentations and more. The process is laid out in a step-by-step manner, with deadlines, explanations, definitions, and links to helpful resources.
Citing Research Resources
Citing resources involves giving credit to the ideas of other scholars when you use their work or research in developing your own project. You must cite a resource whenever you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or otherwise refer to the work of another.
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create and format bibliographies, lists of references and lists of citations. Using special RefWorks plugins, references can be inserted into papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds using a wide variety of styles. This resource is available to all current Macalester students, faculty, and staff.
Dictionary of International Trade
Location(s): MAC Reference HF1373 .H55 2000
- General Reference
New Palgrave dictionary of economics and the law, The
Location(s): Mac Reference K487.E3 N49 1998 v.1-v.3
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
Coverage: Published 2002.
From description: "Provides readers with a thorough understanding of the current and historical economic development of foreign nations. Arranged by country within broad geographic regions, this title provides accurate, in-depth analysis of each country's economic environment, history, reliable statistics on the country's current economic conditions, trends, and key demographics of the nation's citizens. The 198 entries employ consistent organization allowing users to easily locate, compare, and contrast data from one country to the next. Includes a glossary of terms, index, maps, charts, and graphs."
Business Source Premier
Coverage: 1922 - Present.
Provides articles, industry reports, and more on virtually all subject areas related to business. Full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Other keywords: economics, business, industry, finance, academic/scholarly content.
Economist Historical Archive
Coverage: 1843 - 2003.
Full-text and full-image archive to the Economist for the years 1843-2003.
A nice interface to the RePEc archive of economics papers.
Coverage: 1960 - Present.
Covers a wide range of economic literature including economic theory and application. Includes journals, books, dissertations, collective volumes, and working papers in the field of economics.
Federal Reserve Board: Economic Research & Data
Data and research publications from the US Federal Reserve Board.
NBER Working Papers
Coverage: 1921 - Present.
The National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers is a searchable collection of current working papers produced by researchers at the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Academic Search Premier
Coverage: 1975 - Present.
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. A few other kinds of resources are included such as speeches, newspapers, and polls.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Coverage: 1991 - Present.
CIAO is one of the most comprehensive sources for theory and research in international affairs. It indexes articles, books, conference proceedings and working papers in the field of political science, public policy and international issues.
Search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Coverage: Date Varies.
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas. Depending on their publisher, articles typically appear in JSTOR 3-5 years after they are published. Journals included cover art and art history, history, political science, sociology, language and literature in economics, history, political science, archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, Slavic studies, sociology, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, the history and study of art and architecture, business, education, law, psychology, public policy and administration, philosophy, education, linguistics, political science, area studies, Ireland studies, and health sciences including biological and general sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Coverage: 1984 - Present.
Use to find multilingual, multidisciplinary research from a European perspective in the arts & humanities and social sciences. Topic areas include: economics, religion, art history, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Research materials indexed include serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Other keywords: France.
Coverage: Date Varies.
Extensive online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, legal resources, medical resources, and more - updated daily. Also includes several reference sources, as well as archived transcripts from radio and television (TV) broadcasts (text-only). One of the most comprehensive news databases, LexisNexis Academic provides articles from thousands of sources. Coverage is different for each title. For example, articles from the Washington Post are available from 1977 through current, whereas articles from the Star Tribune are available from 1991 through current. Includes regional newspapers: Duluth News-Tribune, Grand Forks Herald, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), St. Paul Pioneer Press. Updated daily.
Coverage: Dates vary.
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide. Search for books, journal titles, videos, DVDs, articles, and much more. Macalester Worldcat will indicate which library (including Macalester) owns a particular item. Use the Interlibrary Loan button to ask for items owned by other libraries.
Coverage: Dates Vary.
Online archive of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage includes literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Coverage: 1984 - Present.
Current and archived news from over 700 United States and international news sources (text-only), including the Star Tribune, New York Times, The Times of London, and The Wall Street Journal. To see a complete list of titles, log on to ProQuest Newspapers, then click on More search options, then click on Look up publications. Note that coverage is different for each title. In this database, The Wall Street Journal goes back the farthest (1984 - ). For earlier newspaper coverage, see our historical archives, such as the New York Times Archive, which goes back to 1851.
Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) Sponsored Resource
Social Sciences Citation Index
Coverage: 1900 - Present.
Part of the Web of Science, this index covers information for more than 1,700 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. An important feature of this resource is that it offers cited reference searching.
Wall Street Journal Digital Archive
Searchable archive of the Wall Street Journal back to the first issue of the newspaper with full page and article images. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. To access current issues of the Wall Street Journal, see the ProQuest Newspapers database.
- Tips for Finding Data and Statistics
Print materials are useful!
While much data appears on the web, especially data collected by the United States government, you may need to consult print resources to find data sets. Scan the HA-HG section of the Reference collection to find collected statistics.
Consult Macalester Worldcat
Add the term "statistics" to a subject or keyword search. For example: disasters and statistics.
- Selected Reference Resources for Data and Statistics
International Financial Statistics Yearbook
Coverage: annual publication.
Worldwide financial information and statistics, often including 10-20 years of data. Specialized topics vary from year to year. (Note: the new edition arrives each year around the end of November).
Location(s): MAC Reference HG61 .I57. Older editions in Mac Stacks (circulating)
International Trade Statistics Yearbook
Published by the United Nations, the first volume of this set is arranged by country, listing imports and exports by principal country and commodity; the second volume is arranged by commodity, listing principal importing and exporting countries. Usually the data covers a five year range.
Location(s): MAC Reference HF91 .U473
Comprehensive index to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites. Includes some international statistics.
- Select "Customize Data" to find data sets from a wide variety of sources
Statistical Abstract of Latin America
Updated periodically, this resource includes statistics taken from a variety of Latin American and international sources. A subject index to the tables of statistics is provided at the end of the volume.
Location(s): MAC Reference HA755 .S93
- This is an example of a country- or region-specific statistical resource. We have many of these in the Reference area.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Produced by the United States Bureau of the Census, this covers social, political and economic statistics, abstracted from original sources. It is very useful in helping to track down sources for statistics in the United States. Older editions of this are in the main collection of the library. A web version is available, beginning with the year 1878.
Location(s): Online & MAC Reference HA202
Historical Statistics of the United States
Coverage: Dates Vary.
Arranged in broad topics, this is a compilation of statistical tables from government data. The print version has an index in the second volume.
Location(s): Online and Print: MAC Reference HA202 .A385 1975 (2 vols.)
Statistical Yearbook (UN, Annuaire Statistique)
An annual publication from the United Nations, this resource provides a summary of socio-economic information for all countries of the world. The tables are arranged by broad subject area and provide data for a range of years. See also the United Nations Statistics Division online.
Location(s): MAC Reference HA12.5 .U63
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database
Coverage: 1962 - Present.
From http://comtrade.un.org/kb/article.aspx?id=10249 (1/22/2009): "UN Comtrade is a very comprehensive database for international merchandise trade statistics containing around 1.5 billion trade records in 9 classifications up to 6 digit level of the classification. In addition, the COMTRADE interface offers many more features that are specific to this large trade statistics dataset, e.g. the search by partners and reporters to create mirror images."
World Development Indicators (WDI Online)
Coverage: 1960 - Present.
Data source on the global economy containing statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators which can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change and charted. Exporting options are available.
- Web Sites for Economists
Alta Plana: International Economics Gateway
Lists lots of links for economic data and information on the Web. This is particularly strong in international economics.
RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet
Sponsored by the American Economic Association, this lists web resources for economists and academics.