Course Guide for
Web sites that can be used for developing of topics ideas.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Includes information on health topics, data and statistics, links to the Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal and the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) and much more.
- Health and Safety Topics
- Diseases and Conditions
-Under resources at bottom of screen, free publications and links are available.
World Health Organization
Responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
U.S. Food & Drug Administration
Information about the Food & Drug Administration, including human and animal drugs, foods, toxicology, biologics, medical devices and cosmetics. TIP:Use the tabs of interest: drugs, medical devices, food, etc.
-Use the tabs of interest: drugs, medical devices, food etc.
Occupational & Health Safety Administration
Assures safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.
-Large variety of topics: distracted driving, construction accidents, heat illness and many others
Environmental Protection Agency
Federal agency whose mission is to protect Americas from significant risks to human health and the environment where they live, learn and work.
-Use the Health tab. -Topics include: food, environment, water, air, pesticides
United States Agency for International Development (USAid)
federal agency primarily responsible for administering civilian foreign aid including economic, development and humanitarian assistance around the world.
-Broad scope of global health issues.
Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy
CIDRAP has an emerging infectious disease focus both domestic and globally. They use research to drive policy at the national level. This site may be of interest to groups with either a policy or infectious disease focus. Their research is usually on new cutting edge topics.
Use the following resources to help you find materials.
Watch for the the MacLinks button: and find options for locating books, journals, and journal articles.
Coverage: Dates vary.
Use the Journal Search to find a certain journal, magazine or newspaper regardless of research database or journal platform. If you know the article title, try a research database such as Academic Search Premier.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD and Request)
If Macalester does not own or provide access to the research material you need, you can ask the Library to try and borrow the item from another Library in the area.
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create and format bibliographies, lists of references and lists of citations. Using special RefWorks plugins, references can be inserted into papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds using a wide variety of styles. This resource is available to all current Macalester students, faculty, and staff.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries can be helpful in getting an overview of a topic and getting background information.
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology
Coverage: Published 2008.
"The Encyclopedia of Epidemiology presents information from the field of epidemiology in a less technical and accessible style and format. With more than 600 entries, no single reference provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and appropriate manner. The entries cover every major facet of epidemiology, from risk ratios to case-control studies to mediating and moderating variables, and much more. Relevant topics from related fields such as biostatistics and health economics are also included."
Location(s): Online through Credo Reference
Coverage: 1966 - Present.
A freely accessible online database in the area of health and medicine research created by the United States National Library of Medicine. It includes MedLine which records are indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). Links to full-text online holdings are listed where the citations match Macalester Library e-journal resources. What is the difference between MedLine and PubMed?
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - Present.
Indexes information for more than 8,600 journals and other research materials covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. The Web of Science includes three citation databases, the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. A citation index contains the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work. You can also search these indexes by topic, author, source title, and address.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Coverage: Dates Vary.
Non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Provides original published reports of ideas, discoveries, and research results in the life sciences and medicine. Currently includes the PLoS Biology, PLoS Medicine, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Pathogens, PLoS ONE, and PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases.
Coverage: 1997 - present.
Digital repository of open access publications including journals across all biomedical fields - from basic life sciences to clinical medicine. All original research articles are peer reviewed and, if published, made immediately and freely available through BioMed Central. Macalester participates with other liberal arts colleges around the country to receive access to BioMed Central.
Academic Search Premier
Coverage: 1975 - Present.
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. A few other kinds of resources are included such as speeches, newspapers, and polls. Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) Sponsored Resource. Other keywords: EBSCO, EBSCOHost, EBSCO host, Journal of Religion in Africa.
Note: Mac/Firefox users who cannot view PDF files should install a PDF plugin.
Search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
TIP: Be sure to set your "Scholar Preferences" to get links, and the ability to directly export citations to RefWorks directly from your search results.
Coverage: Date Varies.
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas. Depending on their publisher, articles typically appear in JSTOR 3-5 years after they are published. Journals included cover art and art history, history, political science, sociology, language and literature in economics, history, political science, archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, Slavic studies, sociology, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, the history and study of art and architecture, business, education, law, psychology, public policy and administration, philosophy, education, linguistics, political science, area studies, Ireland studies, and health sciences including biological and general sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Coverage: Dates vary.
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide. Search for books, journal titles, videos, DVDs, articles, and much more. Macalester Worldcat will indicate which library (including Macalester) owns a particular item. Use the "Request through CLIC" button to ask for items owned by CLIC Libraries; use the Interlibrary Loan button to ask for items owned by other libraries.