Course Guide for
The following databases will help you find local and regional news sources including newspaper articles and television and radio report transcripts.
Access World News: Research Collection
Coverage: Dates Vary.
Library Database -- International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand U.S. and international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Coverage: 1984 - Present.
Library Database -- Current and archived news from over 700 United States and international news sources (text-only). To see a complete list of titles, log on to ProQuest Newspapers, then click on More search options, then click on Look up publications. Note that coverage is different for each title.
Coverage: Date Varies.
Library Database -- Online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, and transcripts from radio and television broadcasts (text-only). Provides articles from thousands of sources. Updated daily.
USNPL Media Directory
Web Resource - Provides links to many local and regional US newspapers, TV stations, radio stations
Encyclopedias and dictionaries can be helpful in getting an overview of a topic and getting background information.
Use to access over 600 online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
Chemistry: Foundations and Applications
Coverage: Published 2004.
From Description: "Provides a broad approach to chemistry, its laws, processes, applications and subdisciplines, and its many branches, including inorganic, industrial, atmospheric and computational chemistry as well as biotechnology, including biographies of scientists past and present. Reviews the history of the field up to modern research and practical applications, and topical essays examine the role chemistry plays in various aspects of everyday life."
Location(s): Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Coverage: Published 2005.
Investigates all types of phenomena that change life on Earth including altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.
Location(s): Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Contains 450 entries "relevant to the study of environmental issues such as biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics and engineering." Articles are arranged alphabetically, are signed, list suggested readings and cross reference relatedentries.
Location(s): MAC Reference GE10 .E52 2000 (3 vols.)
Pollution A to Z
Coverage: Published 2004.
Provides information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources of pollution; disposal; remediation; and the ethical, social and legal environment, as well as topics such as acid rain, cancer, noise pollution and zero growth population. Also covers careers and biographies of key people.
Examples of selected web resources that can provide important background information on environmental issues of local importance.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Site includes current information about current EPA activities as well as background information on a wide variety of environmental topics.
Web site for America's largest and most influential grassroots environmental organization. Includes links to many local chapters that highlight environmental issues in cities and neighborhoods across the country.
Online news resource produced by environmental journalists and bloggers that provides up-to-date information on environmental issues around the world.
Academic Search Premier
Coverage: 1975 - Present.
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. A few other kinds of resources are included such as speeches, newspapers, and polls. Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) Sponsored Resource. Other keywords: EBSCO, EBSCOHost, EBSCO host, Journal of Religion in Africa.
Note: Mac/Firefox users who cannot view PDF files should install a PDF plugin.
Coverage: Dates vary.
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide. Search for books, journal titles, videos, DVDs, articles, and much more. Macalester Worldcat will indicate which library (including Macalester) owns a particular item. Use the "Request through CLIC" button to ask for items owned by CLIC Libraries; use the Interlibrary Loan button to ask for items owned by other libraries.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - Present.
Indexes information for more than 8,600 journals and other research materials covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. The Web of Science includes three citation databases, the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. A citation index contains the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work. You can also search these indexes by topic, author, source title, and address.
Coverage: 1923 - Present.
CQ Researcher is a recommended starting point when seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ is noted for in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
An authoritative resource focused on environmental issues that combines news, unique commentary, audio, video, primary source documents, images, conference reports, and statistics. Hundreds of English-language international newspapers, magazines and refereed journals. Recognized sources of videos, podcasts and images, updated daily. Searchable case studies to support targeted research. Interactive Google Map technology lets users connect and browse environmental issues by country with global points of view.
Search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
TIP: Be sure to set your "Scholar Preferences" to get links, and the ability to directly export citations to RefWorks directly from your search results.
Use the following resources to help you find materials.
Watch for the the MacLinks button: and find options for locating books, journals, and journal articles.
Coverage: Dates vary.
Use the Journal Search to find a certain journal, magazine or newspaper regardless of research database or journal platform. If you know the article title, try a research database such as Academic Search Premier.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD and Request)
If Macalester does not own or provide access to the research material you need, you can ask the Library to try and borrow the item from another Library in the area.