DeWitt Wallace Library

Subject Guide for

Educational Studies

About Doing Research

Help and Guides

Ask Us
Librarians can help you with questions such as choosing a research topic or question, finding background information, searching within Library catalogs and subscription resources, selecting appropriate materials, finding books and articles at Macalester, requesting materials from other libraries, finding statistics, evaluating research resources, citing resources, etc.
RefWorks | More info

Academic Research Databases

Disciplinary

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center -- ProQuest)
ERIC is the most comprehensive research database in the field of education and it can be used to find journal articles, educational research reports, curricula, dissertations, conference papers, and more.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1966 - Present | More info
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center ED)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center, Dept of Education) is the most comprehensive research database in the field of education.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1966 - Present | More info
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Indexes journals, books, conference papers, government documents and research reports in the area of family studies.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1970 - Present | More info
Professional Collection
Provides access to over 300 fulltext journals aimed at the professional educator and spanning the disciplines.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1980 - Present | More info
PsycARTICLES
Small collection of journals in the field of psychology that are published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1985 - Present | More info
PsycINFO
One of the most-used and most comprehensive research resources in the field of psychology.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1840 - Present | More info
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Location: Online and Print: MAC Index Coll.-Lower Level HM1 .S67 (v.1-v.49 1953-2001)
RefWorks | Coverage: 1952 - Present | More info

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
JSTOR
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
LexisNexis Academic
Extensive online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, legal resources, medical resources, and more - updated daily.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Macalester WorldCat
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates vary | More info
Project MUSE
Online archive of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info
Web of Science
Indexes information for more than 8,600 journals and other research materials covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1900 - Present | More info

Data and Statistics

Data Resources

Digest of Education Statistics
Provides statistics on American education from pre-K through graduate school.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1990 - present | More info
Statistical Insight
Comprehensive index to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Credo Reference
Use to 700 online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers.
RefWorks | Coverage: Present | More info
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Fulltext of the Encyclopaedia with links to Internet resources.
RefWorks | Coverage: Continuously updated | More info
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
A survey of the history of childhood from antiquity to the present.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2004 | More info
Encyclopedia of Education
Surveys the field of education around the world.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2003 | More info
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
This resource takes an interdisciplinary look at issues involving school and society.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date varies | More info
Oxford Reference Online
Resource of reference materials including about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Have a Question?
Please feel free to contact me:
Dave Collins