DeWitt Wallace Library

Subject Guide for

Environmental Studies

About Doing Research

Help and Guides

Ask Us
Librarians can help you with questions such as choosing a research topic or question, finding background information, searching within Library catalogs and subscription resources, selecting appropriate materials, finding books and articles at Macalester, requesting materials from other libraries, finding statistics, evaluating research resources, citing resources, etc.
RefWorks | More info

Academic Research Databases

Disciplinary

AGRICOLA
Catalog of the National Agricultural Library, providing citations to agricultural research literature.
RefWorks | Coverage: Continuously Updated | More info
BioOne
Collection of full-text subscription e-journals covering the fields of biology, ecology, paleontology, and environmental science.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1998 - Present | More info
BioOne Abstracts and Indexes
Indexes the BioOne collection of e-journals covering the fields of biology, ecology, and environmental science.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1998 - Present | More info
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is one of the most comprehensive sources for theory and research in international affairs.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1991 - Present | More info
Environment Abstracts Annual
A continuation of the Environment Index.
Location: MAC Reference QH540 .E583 (1988- missing 1995, 1997)
RefWorks | More info
Environment Index
Index to journal articles about the environment.
Location: MAC Reference QH540 .E58 (v.1-v.3,1971-73; v. 8-v.17, 1978-1987)
RefWorks | More info
GEOBASE
International index to the literature of geology, geography and ecology.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1980 - Present | More info
GeoRef
Indexes journals, book, maps, reports, theses in the fields of geology and earth sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1785 - Present | More info
GreenFILE
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
RefWorks | More info
GREENR
An authoritative resource focused on environmental issues that combines news, unique commentary, audio, video, primary source documents, images, conference reports, and statistics.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info
Science Citation Index Expanded
Part of the Web of Science, this index covers information for more than 5,900 journals across 150 science disciplines.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1900 - Present | More info
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Covers over 1000 journals that cover political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
Access World News: Research Collection
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info
JSTOR
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
LexisNexis Academic
Extensive online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, legal resources, medical resources, and more - updated daily.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Macalester WorldCat
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates vary | More info
Social Sciences Citation Index
Part of the Web of Science, this index covers information for more than 1,700 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1900 - Present | More info
Web of Science
Indexes information for more than 8,600 journals and other research materials covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1900 - Present | More info

Data and Statistics

Data Resources

Antarctic Master Directory
One of the Global Change Master Directory data portals managed by NASA.
RefWorks | More info
CEOP Portal
The CEOP Portal links to data on topics related to the fields of agriculture, atmosphere, biosphere, cryosphere, land surface, oceans, and spectral/engineering.
RefWorks | More info
CEOS International Directory Network
"A comprehensive directory of earth science and global change data." Compiled by the NASA Committee on Earth Observation Satellites.
RefWorks | More info
Environmental Data Report
Although the data is not current, this source provides reports and statistics on the environment world-wide, with comparison data covering a number of years.
Location: MAC Reference TD174 E576 1991
RefWorks | More info
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Produced by the United States Bureau of the Census, this covers social, political and economic statistics, abstracted from original sources.
Location: Online & MAC Reference HA202
RefWorks | More info
Statistical Insight
Comprehensive index to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Statistical Record of the Environment
A compendium of statistics from governmental and private sources about many aspects of the environment: air and water, land use, energy, wastes, expenditures, etc.
Location: MAC Reference GE150 .D67 1995
RefWorks | More info
World Development Indicators (WDI Online)
Data source on the global economy containing statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1960 - Present | More info

Other Resources

Web Sites

Bridges: Minnesota's Gateway to Environmental Information
"Bridges is developed with the collaboration of Minnesota state government environmental agencies to facilitate access to the rich and diverse environmental information in electronic format in Minnesota.".
RefWorks | More info
Ecological Internet
Ecological Internet's mission is to empower the global movement for environmental sustainability by providing information retrieval tools, portal services, expert analysis and action opportunities that aid in the protection of climate, forest, ocean and water ecosystems...
Location: online
RefWorks | More info
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
State DNR websites can be a great place to find information about a state's natural resources and resource management, conservation initiatives, state parks, hunting and fishing regulations, etc.
RefWorks | More info
Surf Your Watershed
A resource of the United States Environmental Protection Agency, Surf Your Watershed integrates information gathered in associated databases (e.g., environmental websites, Adopt Your Watershed, River Corridor and Restoration)and enables searching by geographical unit such as state, watershed, county, metro area, and tribe.
RefWorks | More info
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The web site for the United States Environmental Protection Agency.
RefWorks | More info
U.S. EPA Office of Water
The Office of Water ensures drinking water is safe, and restores and maintains oceans, watersheds, and their aquatic ecosystems to protect human health, support economic and recreational activities, and provide healthy habitat for fish, plants, and wildlife.
Location: online
RefWorks | More info

Reference Resources

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Ecology
An online current dictionary to ecology and environmental sciences.
Location: online
RefWorks | More info

Encyclopedias

AccessScience
Authoritative encyclopedic articles in all major areas of science and technology.
RefWorks | Coverage: Continuously Updated | More info
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Focusing on solutions, experts around the world provide authoritative, peer-reviewed coverage of the growing body of knowledge about ways to restore the planet.
Location: MAC Reference GE140 .B47 2010
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2010 | More info
Credo Reference
Use to access over 600 online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers.
RefWorks | Coverage: Present | More info
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Fulltext of the Encyclopaedia with links to Internet resources.
RefWorks | Coverage: Continuously updated | More info
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
This is a "comprehensive study of the topic of diversity in the natural world." The 313 full length articles written by experts in the topic area contain an outline, glossary, defining statement, cross references and a bibliography.
Location: MAC Reference QH541.15.B56 E53 2001 (5 vols.)
RefWorks | More info
Encyclopedia of Energy
This covers all aspects of energy--from the scientific to the social.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2004 | More info
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
This encyclopedia brings "multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies together in one place, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.To that end, the encyclopedia was designed to include a vast range of different types of entries, including key individuals, polices, problems, processes, and theoretical concepts that sit astride what has traditionally been known as 'society' and the 'environment'.” .
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2007 | More info
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2007 | More info
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Contains 450 entries "relevant to the study of environmental issues such as biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics and engineering." Articles are arranged alphabetically, are signed, list suggested readings and cross reference relatedentries.
Location: MAC Reference GE10 .E52 2000 (3 vols.)
RefWorks | More info
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Investigates all types of phenomena that change life on Earth including altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2005 | More info
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Explores major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2008 | More info
Environmental Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia has an alphabetical rather than thematic arrangement.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2003 | More info
Green Business: An A-to-Z Guide
"Provides an overview of the key principles, approaches, strategies, and tools that businesses have used to reduce their environmental impacts and contribute to sustainability, as well as describing some of the firms that have taken steps to green their operations and products.".
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2010 | More info
Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide
"Provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green energy economy.".
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2010 | More info
Green Consumerism: An A-to-Z Guide
"Highlights the complexity of consumption, and in doing so provides insights into the social and spatial constitution of green consumerism.".
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2010 | More info
Green Energy: An A-to-Z Guide
"Provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green energy economy.".
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2010 | More info
Green Food: An A-to-Z Guide
"Provides people interested in food and agricultural systems with the basic analytical and conceptual ideas that help explain why our food system looks the way it does, and what can be done to change it.".
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2010 | More info
Green Politics: An A-to-Z Guide
"Comprises some of the essential concepts, actors, institutions, and processes in green politics today.".
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2010 | More info
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
"Captured here are the dynamic and energetic debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.
Location: online through CREDO Reference
RefWorks | More info
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
"Includes country and regional entries, with country entries giving a concise overview of the history, main actors, issues and policies related to its environmental politics; normative and ethical dimensions of environmental politics, from animal rights, social and global justice to deep ecology; environmental movements, organizations, struggles and actors from local to international levels; issues in international environmental politics such as global warming, biodiversity, trade and the environment; prominent individuals (historical and current) who have inspired or been actively involved in international environmental politics; and central topics and issues in environmental politics - such as global warming, globalization, wildlife preservation, eco-taxes, energy production and consumption, sustainable development and the World Trade Organisation." (from the publisher) .
Location: online through CREDO Reference
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Reference Online
Resource of reference materials including about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Pollution A to Z
Provides information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources of pollution; disposal; remediation; and the ethical, social and legal environment, as well as topics such as acid rain, cancer, noise pollution and zero growth population.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2004 | More info
Water: Science and Issues
Integrates key concepts, current issues, traditional and emerging research, and major legislation in three subject areas: fresh water, marine waters, and policy and management.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2003 | More info
Have a Question?
Please feel free to contact me:
Dave Collins