DeWitt Wallace Library

Subject Guide for

Russian Studies

About Doing Research

Help and Guides

Ask Us
Librarians can help you with questions such as choosing a research topic or question, finding background information, searching within Library catalogs and subscription resources, selecting appropriate materials, finding books and articles at Macalester, requesting materials from other libraries, finding statistics, evaluating research resources, citing resources, etc.
RefWorks | More info

Academic Research Databases

Disciplinary

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to journal articles in history, especially non-US history.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1954 - Present | More info
Literature Criticism Online
Provides commentary by scholars on books and plays.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date varies | More info
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Comprehensive source for criticism, reviews, biographies, and overviews of authors and literature including theater, plays and playwrights.
RefWorks | Coverage: 22nd century B.C. - present | More info
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, including publications not available on the Web.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1963 - present | More info

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This index provides article references for more than 1,100 journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
FRANCIS
Resource Temporarily Unavailable This resource is currently unavailable. We are working with our vendor to re-instate access. Please contact the Service Desk if you need assistance. Thank you!

Use to find multilingual, multidisciplinary research from a European perspective in the arts & humanities and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1984 - Present | More info
JSTOR
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
LexisNexis Academic
Extensive online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, legal resources, medical resources, and more - updated daily.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Macalester WorldCat
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates vary | More info
Project MUSE
Online archive of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info

Reference Resources

Dictionaries

Dictionary of the Russian Revolution
.
Location: MAC Reference DK265 .D49 1989
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Language Dictionaries
A collection of fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Reference Guide to Russian Literature
Divided into two major parts, this work consists of introductory essays entries on 273 writers.
Location: MAC Reference PG2940 .R43 1998
RefWorks | More info

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture
Alphabetical entries on major events, figures, concepts, and cultural terms having to do with post-Stalinist Russia.
Location: MAC Reference DK10.32 .E53 2007
RefWorks | More info
Encyclopedia of Russian History
This encyclopedia covers the entire history of Russia from ancient Rus to post Soviet Russia.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2004 | More info
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search across nearly 200 subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date varies | More info
Literary Encyclopedia
A collaborative global project to provide a description of most literary and cultural texts of scholarly interest in the English-speaking world, as well as coverage of German and Russian literature, and growing coverage of French, Spanish and Italian.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History
Intended to be a comprehensive reference work on all aspects of Russian history, it is arranged alphabetically.
Location: MAC Reference DK36 .M55 1976-2000 (60 vols. + Suppl.)
RefWorks | More info
Russian Women Writers
Profiles of Russian women writers from Catherine the Great to the present are provided.
Location: MAC Reference PG3203.W64 R868 1999 (2 vols.)
RefWorks | More info

General Reference

Credo Reference
Use to 700 online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers.
RefWorks | Coverage: Present | More info
Pop Culture Russia! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
"With chapters on media, the arts, recreation, religion, and consumerism, the book offers an insightful survey of Russian mass culture from the death of Stalin in 1953 to the present, exploring the historical significance of important events and trends, as well as the social and political contexts from which they emerged.".
Location: Online
RefWorks | More info
Have a Question?
Please feel free to contact me:
Ginny Heinrich Alexis Logsdon