DeWitt Wallace Library

Subject Guide for

Theatre

About Doing Research

Help and Guides

Ask Us
Librarians can help you with questions such as choosing a research topic or question, finding background information, searching within Library catalogs and subscription resources, selecting appropriate materials, finding books and articles at Macalester, requesting materials from other libraries, finding statistics, evaluating research resources, citing resources, etc.
RefWorks | More info

Academic Research Databases

Disciplinary

Black Drama
This resource contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1850 - present | More info
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Comprehensive source for criticism, reviews, biographies, and overviews of authors and literature including theater, plays and playwrights.
RefWorks | Coverage: 22nd century B.C. - present | More info
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, including publications not available on the Web.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1963 - present | More info
Shakespeare Collection
A comprehensive and authoritative online resource, the Shakespeare Collection brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This index provides article references for more than 1,100 journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
JSTOR
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Macalester WorldCat
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates vary | More info
Project MUSE
Online archive of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info

Primary Source Materials

Primary Sources

LION (Literature Online)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 197 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1477 - present | More info
UbuWeb
"UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts." - web site.
RefWorks | More info

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Credo Reference
Use to access over 600 online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers.
RefWorks | Coverage: Present | More info
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
"Because the concept of aesthetics ranges across cultures and disciplines, the Encyclopedia gives extensive coverage to painting, sculpture, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture as well as a wide array of philosophical and sociological theories.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 1998 | More info
International Encyclopedia of Dance
From introduction: "...covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2003 | More info
Literature Criticism Online
Provides commentary by scholars on books and plays.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date varies | More info
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, The
From online summary: "This encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2003 | More info
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
"The Performing Arts Encyclopedia serves as a guide to the collections and resources at the Library of Congress that pertain to music, theater, and dance.
RefWorks | More info
Have a Question?
Please feel free to contact me:
Ginny Heinrich Alexis Logsdon