DeWitt Wallace Library

Subject Guide for

Dance

Academic Research Databases

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This index provides article references for more than 1,100 journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
JSTOR
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
LexisNexis Academic
Extensive online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, legal resources, medical resources, and more - updated daily.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Macalester WorldCat
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates vary | More info
Project MUSE
Online archive of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info
Web of Science
Indexes information for more than 8,600 journals and other research materials covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1900 - Present | More info

Other Resources

Video

Dance in Video
Online videos of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
RefWorks | Coverage: 20th Century | More info
Moving Image Archive
New York Public Library's digital archive of over 24,000 dance videos.
RefWorks | More info

Primary Source Materials

Primary Sources

New York Times Archive
Searchable full text of the New York Times back to the first issue of the newspaper with full page and article images.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1851 - 2010 | More info
UbuWeb
"UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts." - web site.
RefWorks | More info

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Credo Reference
Use to 700 online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers.
RefWorks | Coverage: Present | More info
Oxford Reference Online
Resource of reference materials including about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Have a Question?
Please feel free to contact me:
Ginny Heinrich Alexis Logsdon