DeWitt Wallace Library

Subject Guide for

Art & Art History

About Doing Research

Help and Guides

Ask Us
Librarians can help you with questions such as choosing a research topic or question, finding background information, searching within Library catalogs and subscription resources, selecting appropriate materials, finding books and articles at Macalester, requesting materials from other libraries, finding statistics, evaluating research resources, citing resources, etc.
RefWorks | More info

Academic Research Databases

Disciplinary

Art Full Text
Find articles on art and art research, including topics such as advertising art, industrial design, and graphic art.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1984 - Present | More info
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) / International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1990 - Present | More info

E-book Collections

Getty Research Portal
"The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain.
RefWorks | More info

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This index provides article references for more than 1,100 journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
FRANCIS
Use to find multilingual, multidisciplinary research from a European perspective in the arts & humanities and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1984 - Present | More info
JSTOR
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
LexisNexis Academic
Extensive online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, legal resources, medical resources, and more - updated daily.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Macalester WorldCat
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates vary | More info

Images

Image Resources

Art Images for College Teaching
AICT is a source of images to be used for educational purposes.
RefWorks | Coverage: Prehistoric - 20th Century | More info
ARTstor
Large library of approximately 300,000 digital images of artistic photographs and artwork.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Bridgeman Art Library
A web site that is a "...source of fine art with images from over eight thousand collections and twenty nine thousand artists".
RefWorks | More info
CAMIO
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
RefWorks | Coverage: 3000 B.C. - present | More info
Google Art Project
"A unique collaboration with some of the world’s most acclaimed art museums to enable people to discover and view more than a thousand artworks online in extraordinary detail.".
RefWorks | More info
Google Images
Google's image search allows you to search by keyword for images in web pages.
RefWorks | More info
Macalester Art History Digital Collection
This is a database of high quality digital images collected and maintained by the Art Department at Macalester.
Location: Online
RefWorks | More info
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Over 6500 images from the collections of the Metropolitan Mueseum of Art.
RefWorks | More info
National Gallery Collection
"The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London.
RefWorks | More info
vads (Visual Arts Data Service)
"VADS is the online resource for visual arts.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info

Other Resources

Web Sites

Art History Resources on the Web
A large collection of links to web art history resources maintained by a professor of art history at Sweet Briar College.
RefWorks | More info
Arts Watch
A weekly cultural policy e-publication of Americans for the Arts.
Location: Online
RefWorks | More info
ArtsConnectEd
A joint project of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts and the Walker Art Center to provide access to the educational materials provided by each institution.
Location: Online
RefWorks | More info
National Arts Policy Database
"The National Arts Policy Database is a tool that enables users to access current information on a multitude of topics related to arts policy.
Location: Online
RefWorks | More info

Reference Resources

Dictionaries

Critical Terms for Art History
"In addition to the twenty-two original essays, this edition includes nine new ones-performance, style, memory/monument, body, beauty, ugliness, identity, visual culture/visual studies, and social history of art-as well as new introductory material.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Dictionary of Modern Design
This "...dictionary covers the past 150 years of international design, with accessible and succinct entries on ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design, interiors, and fashion.".
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
THis volume is a ..
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Dictionary of Art
One-volume guide to the art of the Western world.
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture
"The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture is a wide ranging and authoritative coverage of the whole spectrum of architecture and urban planning in the 20th century, and of leading architects and engineers the world over.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
"International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.".
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900
"This comprehensive guide embraces all aspects of modern design: graphics, products, interiors, furniture and industrial and architectural design.".
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
This "..
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info

Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Art
This comprehensive encyclopedia of world visual arts, completed in 1996, contains entries on artists, periods, movements, countries, cities, art forms, art patronages, etc.
Location: MAC Reference N31 .D5 1996 (34 vols.)
RefWorks | More info
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
"Because the concept of aesthetics ranges across cultures and disciplines, the Encyclopedia gives extensive coverage to painting, sculpture, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture as well as a wide array of philosophical and sociological theories.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 1998 | More info
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
"This is the first comprehensive, scholarly study of a most fascinating aspect of American history and culture.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
A survey of the history of clothing and fashion.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2005 | More info
Encyclopedia of World Art
Comprehensive encyclopedia of world art.
Location: MAC Reference N31 .E533 (17 vols.)
RefWorks | More info
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search across nearly 200 subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date varies | More info
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Presents biographies and thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf and MAC Reference N5610 .G76 2007 (2 vols.)
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2007 | More info
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Covers thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures and includes entries on artists, craftsmen, designers, workshops, and decorative art forms.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2006 | More info
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
Encompassing Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spanning over a thousand years of history.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2009 | More info
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
"Provides fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf and MAC STACKS N8510 .G76 2008
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2008 | More info
Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
This encyclopedia "...covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to allareas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2009 | More info
Oxford Art Online
Provides access to the entire text of "The Dictionary of Art" and "The Oxford Companion to Western Art." Offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, and extensive image links.
Location: Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Continuously Updated | More info
Oxford Companion to Architecture
This "contains over 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2009 | More info
Thames & Hudson Encyclopaedia of Impressionism
"Here, in a single, concise volume, is all that the art lover and the student will ever want to know about what is undoubtedly the most popular and significant event in the history of painting.
RefWorks | More info

General Reference

Bloomsbury Guide to Art
"The Bloomsbury Guide to Art is one of the most up-to-date and comprehensive surveys of the history of art and architecture available today.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Biographical Dictionary of Artists
Covering over 1300 artists, this is a comprehensive and detailed reference source in art history.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Bridgeman Art Library Archive
"Founded in 1972, the Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Credo Reference
Use to access over 600 online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers.
RefWorks | Coverage: Present | More info
National Gallery Companion Guide
"Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world".
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Reference Online
Resource of reference materials including about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Have a Question?
Please feel free to contact me:
Ginny Heinrich Alexis Logsdon