DeWitt Wallace Library

Subject Guide for

Music

About Doing Research

Help and Guides

Ask Us
Librarians can help you with questions such as choosing a research topic or question, finding background information, searching within Library catalogs and subscription resources, selecting appropriate materials, finding books and articles at Macalester, requesting materials from other libraries, finding statistics, evaluating research resources, citing resources, etc.
RefWorks | More info

Academic Research Databases

Disciplinary

Music Online
Resource Temporarily Unavailable Please use the link below to access streaming from off-campus.

Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press - for off-campus streaming click here.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1967 - Present | More info

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary resource with both popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This index provides article references for more than 1,100 journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1975 - Present | More info
JSTOR
Although it does not provide access to the most recently published articles, JSTOR is a large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
LexisNexis Academic
Extensive online archive of news from newspapers, magazines, legal resources, medical resources, and more - updated daily.
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
Macalester WorldCat
Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates vary | More info
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
The Library no longer subscribes to this resource.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1665 - 1995 | More info
Project MUSE
Online archive of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info

Other Resources

Audio Resources

American Song
Songs covering all eras of American history from the Revolutionary War to twentieth-century anti-war protests; extensive liner notes included .
Location: Online in Music Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info
Classical Music Library
This resource includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers.
Location: Online in Music Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Medieval - 21st Century | More info
Contemporary World Music
Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of many important genres.
Location: Online in Music Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Date Varies | More info
DRAM
An eclectic database with classical, jazz, rock, pop, show tunes, and folk music, including the landmark series, "New World Records." .
RefWorks | Coverage: Date varies | More info
National Jukebox
Over 10,000 music recordings available online from the Library of Congress, made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
RefWorks | Coverage: 1910-1929 | More info

Video

Opera in Video
Some of the most important opera performances captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Location: Online in Music Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info

Web Sites

Global Music Archive
This is a multimedia reference archive and resource center providing access to sound recordings and images related to indigenous music from communities in Africa and the Americas.
RefWorks | More info

Primary Source Materials

Music Scores

Classical Scores Library
Classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions.
Location: Online in Music Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Medieval - 21st Century | More info
International Music Score Library Project/Petrucchi Music Library
The Petrucchi Music Library is a free collaborative project to provide scanned PDF versions of all public domain music scores.
RefWorks | More info
Sheet Music Consortium
This is a digitized collection of sheet music from the collections of several institutions, including UCLA, Indiana University, Duke University and John Hopkins.
Location: Online
RefWorks | More info

Reference Resources

Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
Derived from the Oxford Dictionary of Music this..."dictionary includes over 14,000 entries on musical terms from allegro to zingaro, and on musical works from Aida to Tosca, as well as musical instruments and their history, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras.
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
Dictionary of Opera Characters
"Contains over 2,500 lively entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances.".
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
A comprehensive reference work about the field of jazz music and musicians.
Location: MAC Reference ML102.J3 N48 2002 v. 1-3
RefWorks | More info
New Penguin Dictionary of Music
"Succinct and comprehensive guide to the history, forms, and personalities of classical music.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Dictionary of Music
A current dictionary of American English musical terms.
Location: MAC Reference ML100 .K35 1994
RefWorks | More info

Encyclopedias

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry and Society
This is volume one of a 7 volume set.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Performance and Production
"This volume is subdivided into four principal parts.
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Intended to be the "comprehensive and reliable reference work on popular music", this encyclopedia is divided into 4 parts.
Location: MAC Reference ML102.P66 C66 2003 (vols.3-7)
RefWorks | More info
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Locations
"Includes coverage of the historical, geographical, demographical, political, economic and cultural context; genres for which the location is known or which have been important to the development and current practice of its popular music; significant venues such as theatres, dance halls, clubs and bars, the role of the industry: music publishers, record companies/labels, recording studios, radio and TV; the role of the state and government regulatory bodies; the teaching and research of popular music in educational institutions; songs associated with the location; and notable performers and other practitioners such as producers, engineers, technological innovators, record company heads, journalists, critics and scholars, songwriters, composers and lyricists.".
Location: Online in Credo Reference
RefWorks | More info
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
"Because the concept of aesthetics ranges across cultures and disciplines, the Encyclopedia gives extensive coverage to painting, sculpture, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture as well as a wide array of philosophical and sociological theories.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 1998 | More info
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
This Oxford University Press encyclopedia ncludes over 30,000 entries on all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
Location: Online in Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2009 | More info
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
This encyclopedia surveys world music by region and topics.
Location: Online in Music Online and Print: MAC Reference ML100 .G16 1998 v. 1-10
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2008 | More info
Oxford History of Western Music
A narrative history covering the Western classical tradition from the Gregorian chant to contemporary music.
Location: Online and Print: MAC Reference ML160 .T18 2005 (6 vols.)
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Music Online
Integrated music resource including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
"The Performing Arts Encyclopedia serves as a guide to the collections and resources at the Library of Congress that pertain to music, theater, and dance.
RefWorks | More info

General Reference

African American Music Reference
Comprehensive coverage in text, images, and audio of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Location: Online in Music Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Dates Vary | More info
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
A comprehensive listing of western classical and popular musicians.
Location: Online and MAC Reference ML105 .B16 2001 (6 vols.)
Check WorldCat Local
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2001 | More info
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
From Description: "An A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and classical.
Location: Online
Check WorldCat Local
RefWorks | Coverage: Published 2004 | More info
Classical Music Reference Library
More than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, including: Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Location: Online in Music Online
RefWorks | Coverage: Medieval - 21st Century | More info
Credo Reference
Use to access over 600 online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers.
RefWorks | Coverage: Present | More info
Grove Book of Operas
Covering over over 250 operas, this work "includes a full synopsis of the plot, a cast list, a note on the singers in the original production, and information on the origins of the work and its literary and social background.
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
Information Sources in Music
This is a guide for those who are new to the study of music.
Location: MAC Reference ML113 .I55 2003
RefWorks | More info
New Grove Book of Opera Singers
"Covering over 1500 singers from the birth of opera to the present day,...(the) ...profiles offer basic information such as birth date, vocal style, first debut, most memorable roles, and much more.
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Companion to Music
"The new edition of this classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of virtually every musical subject.
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Companion to the American Musical
"With more than two thousand entries, this guide offers a wealth of information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more"..
Location: Online in Oxford Reference
RefWorks | More info
Oxford Reference Online
Resource of reference materials including about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
RefWorks | Coverage: Current | More info
Reader's Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism
A bibliographical guide to the monographic literature on Western music, this one volume guide is arranged alphabetically and thematically.
Location: MAC Reference ML160 .R42 1999
RefWorks | More info
Have a Question?
Please feel free to contact me:
Ginny Heinrich Alexis Logsdon